Winter 2014 First Impressions Part 6: Everything Else

[FTW]_Chuunibyou_demo_Koi_ga_Shitai!_Ren_-_02_[720p][EBB35987].mkv_snapshot_09.40_[2014.01.18_14.06.08]Let’s finish this. Very short first impressions abound.

Hoozuki no Reitetsu

I can see how this is well-made. The art, sound, and other things fit the show. I also think the jokes are well-timed. The characters are also well-acted. The problem is that I don’t find it funny. I think many of the references are either too old or too Japanese for me to get. I’d say it’s still watchable for me, but I’m already watching a lot shows this season, so I guess I’ll have to drop this.

[HorribleSubs] Nisekoi - 02 [720p].mkv_snapshot_08.22_[2014.01.23_09.58.51]

Nisekoi

Standard shounen romance. Very standard. That’s not automatically bad, but so far I’m not finding it to be very enjoyable either. It’s enjoyable, just not very enjoyable. The contrast of the material with Shinbo’s style is interesting to watch though. It also looks really good. It’s enjoyable enough, I guess.

D-Frag!

I like Brain’s Base, but I’m dropping this. I guess it’s fun if you find the jokes to be funny. Personally, I think the comedic timing isn’t good. The jokes themselves are overused jokes that aren’t really funny anymore especially if their execution isn’t very good.

[Watashi-Koi]_Wizard_Barristers_Benmashi_Cecil_-_01_ [720p][35BD4CBF].mkv_snapshot_06.24_[2014.01.17_18.02.18]

Wizard Barristers: Benmashi Cecil

 This 1st episode actually wasn’t bad. I didn’t find any of the charcters to be appealing, but I the idea has potential even if the details didn’t make it believable. Details and presentation make a story believable (Realistic doesn’t equal believable.), but so far it’s failing for me. Despite that, the action and the pacing of the episode seemed okay. Here’s the problem: Next episode, we’ll get court hearings and stuff. I remember how bad those things were in Galilei Donna. Am I to expect things to be the complete opposite when it’s basically from the same person? In this episode alone there were hints of the same thing happening. I’m not assuming it’ll be bad (I’m assuming it’ll be decent at best), but seeing as I’m already watching too much and also didn’t find this episode to be that engaging, I’ll just drop this.

[HorribleSubs] Sekai Seifuku - Bouryaku no Zvezda - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_07.14_[2014.01.27_13.07.35]

Sekai Seifuku: Bouryaku no Zvezda

 This was really good. It was fun with all the well-executed cliches and jokes, but I’m almost sure there’s something really substantial (for those who only watch for that) that’ll be focused here in the later episodes. They might be presenting everything in a completely unserious way, but the message and themes are evident. I don’t know if many found this to be the case, but I saw a lot of it in the dialogue and the narration. It might seem like just good funny intelligent scriptwriting at first, but it’s been consistent. Just like with Jintai, I think this is one series where it’s not serious, but it tackles serious things underneath if you pay attention. They’re not really similar in the story department, but they’re similar in how they’re enjoyable. It’s having fun and laughing with substance, except we use cliches here instead of weird shit, which shouldn’t be a problem given how they’re used and executed.

I’m feeling really confident with this series because of the staff. We have Okamura Tensai directing and Hoshizora Meteor writing. Tensai created and directed Darker than Black. I’m currently playing Forest — a VN written by Hoshizora Meteor, the writer for this series — and this guy is really skilled. I don’t even know how much of the quality of the writng I’m missing because I’m only playing an english TL. Also, knowing that an old VN he wrote was an inspiration for Tanaka Romeo’s Cross Channel (also the author Jintai) really increased my faith in his skill.

Yes, my expectations for this are high.

Witchcraft Works

I’m not interested in continuing it but I thought it was decent.

Everything else: I didn’t try them out. If there’s something I didn’t try that’s really a must watch, feel free to tell me.

About cladinblue

Clad in blue and surrounded by fields of gold.

Leave a Comment

